The Edmonton Scottish Society

Celebrating Scottish Culture

The Edmonton Scottish Society is a community organization for all who are interested in celebrating Scottish heritage through a variety of cultural, athletic, and social activities. Throughout the year the society hosts numerous events that feature the unique culture, songs, dance and food of Scotland and its people. Come on out. It's a great chance to make new friends, reacquaint with old friends, or simply enjoy the sights, sounds, and tastes of Scottish hospitality. We are always looking for new members, so stop by one of our activities or events. Everyone is welcome!

Covid - 19 Updates are now located on our Covid Page

National Tartan Day

Tartans of all varieties are worn on Tartan Day, which recognizes and celebrates the contributions of Scots and their descendants in Canada on April 6.

What Do People Do?

Typically Tartan Day celebrations include parades with pipe bands, highland dancing and sports, and other community gatherings with Scottish-themed events. While a variety of tartans are displayed, the maple leaf tartan is Canada’s official tartan.

Public Life

Tartan Day is an observance and not a public holiday in Canada.


On October 21, 2010, the Minister of Canadian Heritage officially declared April 6 as Tartan Day. It is celebrated on April 6 because it is the anniversary of the signing of Declaration of Arbroath in 1320, the Scottish declaration of independence. In Canada, the day originated in the late 1980s in Nova Scotia, where it was declared an official day by the provincial government. It then spread across the country, with many provinces joining in.

Due to current circumstances surrounding Covid-19 mass gatherings are not permitted however there is alot happening online to celebrate National Tartan Day.

What's New

AGM - November 25, 2020

The Edmonton Scottish Society AGM is being held November 25, 2020 at 7 p.m. in the main hall.

Membership Form

The Language of The Scots

If you are not Scottish and have ever tried to hold a conversation with a Scot and found your self wondering just what the blazes was just said,,, well your not alone. We Scots have a way of saying things. Here are some common Scottish terms you may or may not know.


Don’t. As in: ‘Dinnae forget to pack an umbrella’.


Boy and girl, usually on the younger side. Often said with endearment.

Brookfield Residential Sponsors the Edmontons Soccer Dome

The Edmonton Scottish Society is proud to announce a 5 year sponsorship with Brookfield Residential Edmonton. The Soccer Dome now becomes the Edmonton Soccer Dome by Brookfield Residential

Highland Gathering - June 28, 2020

Admissions - Adult $15, Family $40, Seniors $10

Is fast approaching, the Highland Gathering Committee is working on preparations for this years games. If you wish to volunteer or are looking for more information see the Highland Gathering Main Page.

Highland dance competitions, piping and drumming competitions, heavy events, caber toss, hammer throwing, wee heavy events, vendors fair of Celtic wares, clan tents, petting zoo, Scottish country dancing, Scottish food and of course the Beer tent and Whiskey Tasting.

Visit our Highland Gathering page for more information including Vendor application form and volunteer signup form.

'Edmonton really needs it': Hometown soccer pro impressed with indoor soccer dome

Preview of the New Scotsman Newsletter

New Scotsman Newsletter National Tartan Day Apr6_2020.pdf

Wish to get an e-mail with The New Scotsman? Available to members and the general public. Be in the know with The New Scotsman Newsletter by signing up today.

Upcoming Events

Contact us:

Edmonton Scottish Society

3105 101 Street SW

Edmonton, AB, T6X 1A1